Hedwig and the Angry Inch (2001)


I have never been so sexually confused in my life.

After a botched sex-change operation, East German glam rocker Hansel (John Cameron Mitchell) becomes Hedwig and travels across the United States with a stage show, following her ex-boyfriend (and former band mate) and telling her life story. Hedwig’s offbeat show slays audiences — but in diners not clubs.

The film reminds me so much of the Rocky Horror Picture Show. It has a transsexual in the lead, with satire, and a whole lot of glam rock music to spice things up.

If there was one thing that really had me into this film, it was the utterly entertaining, and fun songs that were in this film. The songs took their roots from other Glam rock icons like Bowie, Iggy Pop, and Lou Reed, and almost every single song knocks it out of the park. You can feel the emotion in these songs as the film goes on, and not once was I not enjoying these rocking songs.

The problem with the film though was that I didn’t feel any emotional connection to the film. I’am not gay, and I have never ever felt dissed by society because of how I’am. When we are seeing Hedwig’s tragic life through the years, at times it was funny and I laughed, but then other times I couldn’t quite believe it. How these people were playing in salad bars and restaurants felt so unreal and very contrived, cause honestly nobody would book them for these performances.

John Cameron Mitchell totally made me question my sexuality with this movie. He is dressed up as Hedwig throughout the film and he actually does look like a woman, and actually kind of good-looking too. But anyway he is very very good here. He has a wonderful and powerful stage presence that he could actually take Hedwig on the road and tour. Also as director, he takes every step of this film with care to the point where Hedwig’s sexuality doesn’t feel exploited.

Consensus: Hedwig’s plot seems a bit unbelievable and contrived at times, but features an eclectic taste of music, with a great Director/Acting performance from John Cameron Mitchell.

8/10=Matinee!!!

2 comments

  1. Ah yes…now you’re talking about a movie that’s close to my heart.

    First of all, a fun fact: This film came up during one of the very first conversations Lady Hatter and I ever had. The fact that she loved it certainly played a big part in my loving her!

    As for the lack of an emotional connection – I’d watch it again (no chore, given the high score you gave it), and focus in on two things…

    “The Origin of Love”…the song that tells the fable of us all originally being two people until the gods divided us. It taps the old notion that we all feel incomplete until we can finally meet our other half.

    “Midnight Radio” …the song that tells us that no matter how geekish or freakish we might feel, there’s more of us than there are of them, so we shouldn’t be ashamed of who we are (The misfits and the losers / You know you’re rock and rollers / Spinning to your rock and roll…)

    Anyway – great film as we both agree. Not sure if you noticed, but every blog post of mine where I’m advertising a new podcast is called “Midnight Radio”…and in the most recent one we even briefly discuss this film!

Leave a comment