Prince of Persia: The Sands of Time (2010)


Probably the Citizen Kane of video game movies.

Jake Gyllenhaal stars as Prince Dastan, who pairs with spunky Princess Tamina (Gemma Arterton) to keep the Sands of Time — a mystical dagger that gives its holder control over the flow of time — from falling into the wrong hands and putting the world in peril.

There haven’t been many good video game adaptations: Resident Evil is probably the best, even though that kind of sucks too. So when we finally get a good one, it brings out a lot of hope for a genre that was basically dead before it even started.

Right from the beginning you can tell this is based off a video-game mostly cause it plays out like one. The action in this game is very exciting, with plenty, and I do mean plenty, of CGI. Mostly cause I was a fan of the video game, I was interested in seeing this, and if they actually stayed true to the source material, and surprisingly they did. The idea of the sword, being able to push you back in time, was a lot like the video game by the way it looked, and the daring stunts, as well as fun action, made me feel, like I’m playing the game all over again.

This film although may be fun, still has plenty of faults. There is not a single memorable moment to be honest. I mean its a fun film, with great action, but nothing in my mind really stands out from watching this film. I was glad that they decided to use a big-budget, unlike other video game adaptations that look cheap and stupid, but the effects still don’t seem realistic that much, and a little too corny. When the story slows down, to focus on Dastan and Tamina, I couldn’t help but to catch some z’s. These parts of the film just left me out of the film, and I wasn’t brought back in until all the action started back up, then I was interested once again.

Jake Gyllenhaal shines in his role as Prince Dastan. He’s likable, and charming, and instead of playing against type, he actually brings in that boyish charm he has with his action role, and it works well. Gemma Arterton is also good, and actually does have some acting to back up her wonderful, and gorgeous looks. Ben Kingsley is cheesing it up, but is barely on the screen as much so its hard just to critique him, when he’s on for like 15 minutes the whole film. Alfred Molina, is perfect in his role as the dude who hates taxes (Iraq symbolism???), and steals almost every scene he’s in and brings a lot of comic relief to this film.

Consensus: It may not be the most memorable, and sure as hell not the best thought out film, but Prince of Persia is still a faithful video game adaptation, that features charming performances, and enough action to satisfy.

5/10=Rental!!!

6 comments

  1. I’m pretty alone on this, but I didn’t really feel it played out much like a video game. Maybe a tiny bit in the opening…but overall, not really.

  2. It’s entertaining and visually quite pleasing, but definitely not well thought out, especially the way some of the scenes were shot. Still though, entertaining in a chuckling “Clash of the Titans” sort of way πŸ™‚

  3. I agree with you. When I saw this movie, it’s like,”I saw those things before, come on, you know you can do better than that!” Honestly, there was not single thing worth mentioning about this film. It’s just like another action film with a sandy twist. lol.

    my rating – 2/5 πŸ˜›

    ~breisa

Leave a comment