Jennifer’s Body (2009)


Though she was eating people, Megan Fox is still, and will always be bangin’.

After a supernatural romp with a satanic emo band, hot cheerleader Jennifer (Megan Fox) is transformed into a demon with an insatiable appetite for high school boys. Now, it’s up to Jennifer’s BFF, Needy (Amanda Seyfried), to protect the guys from the bloodthirsty man-eater.

When it comes to writing a specific, and different way that challenges viewers beyond belief, Diablo Cody is the one for the job. If you hated Juno for all it’s crazy slang talk, then be ready to hate this, because there is plenty of that here. I didn’t hate the dialogue, and it wasn’t quite annoying to be honest, I just thought it had problems with its tone.

The film had its funny moments, I did laugh every once and awhile, and I was surprised. But the comedy leans more towards darker territories by the end of the film, which got ugly, and real quick. The film puts itself under the “comedy/horror” genre, but in order for that to be true, you need scary moments, and this had none. I think they were trying to show us gruesome, and disgusting images, to convey a scream or two, and it didn’t do that at all, instead it just made me sigh, and wish there was actually something more original. And when you start to kill people left and right, it starts to become less funny as the body count goes up, so adding jokes in after a person dies, is not funny, it’s just sad, and a lame way to convey laughter.

But the film by the end starts to get a lot better. There is a lot more action, blood, and violence all over the place, and it actually does a nice job. I thought that the blood was used in a nice way, and it didn’t seem exploited in any way.

This is the role that Megan Fox was born to play, although I don’t know if she even had to act. The whole movie is basically a 1 hour and 42 minute tease fest, from Fox, and I was just on the edge waiting to see something, instead I got nothing. So, I guess she does an alright job with this, considering that a lot of it is special effects. But the real star in this film is Amanda Seyfried, who brings so much more to her character than you would have expected. The film is more about her than it is as much about Fox, and with good reason, cause Seyfried can act.

Consensus: Jennifer’s Body wants to be so many things, and fails badly, but it still kept me laughing, entertained, and getting many glimpses of Megan Fox, although we never get the full show.

5/10=Rental!!!

14 comments

  1. I was really looking forward to this film, I thought it would be a fun, corny horror flick, but it failed to deliver on so many levels. It still had some great moments, I liked the bookends of the film, but overall it was just a mediocre delivery.

    At least Amanda Seyfried was amazing.

  2. I do not tire of coming out to defend this film. It was one of my favorites of that year, partly because I like Diablo Cody and partly because I LOVE Amanda Seyfried. (Megan Fox, I hate. With a flaming purple passion.) The dialogue was a bit too pop-culturey at times, but there were some biting lines, a great shot of “first love” and a nice reversal of the man-hunts-woman horror plotline.

  3. Hey. Thanks for the comment. Sorry for the late reply! Been quite busy with stuff. Like your review, even though we differ on the quality of the film. But can see we had simular problems with it too.
    I’ll be sure to keep checking out your reviews. I’ll probily be doing some more now too if you want to check them out. Keep in touch!

Leave a comment