Thor (2011)


If this is the beginning of Summer, then this is gonna be a bangin’ Summer!

This Marvel Comics-inspired action flick about the thunder god Thor (Chris Hemsworth), a powerful warrior whose father, Odin (Anthony Hopkins) — the king of Asgard — forces him to live among humans on Earth and learn humility. Once there, he finds a friend (Natalie Portman), along with unexpected enemies sent from his world.

Way back when the trailer for this film came out, everybody had basically had their mind-set on this that it was going to suck. But after seeing it, I think they will all start to change their minds.

Director Kenneth Branagh is a real odd choice for this film, since he’s basically only directed Shakespearean period pieces, which none have any action what so ever but somehow Branagh is good with action. The action is really cool because the things that Thor does with his hammer is absolutely insane, and looks so cool especially when the camera is moving all-over-the-place. They also slowed down when necessary, sped up when it was right, and just worked out so well because never will you feel that a scene is running on too long.

The script is also well done too because all the characters in this film are well drawn-out. There is a human story underneath all this God talk and fighting, which really actually won my sympathy for this film in the long run. The tone here is just a lot more brighter and funnier tone than what you would expect from the source material here, and you’ll definitely remember everyone here in this film. These aren’t amazingly memorable characters, but I have to say that I enjoyed my time with them, and if they were to make a Thor 2, I wouldn’t mind seeing these peeps again.

My main only problem with this film was that I felt like when Thor was on Earth they could have used some more interesting things for him to be introduced to, since I mean he is a dude from a whole other Galaxy, there is probably something he would need to know. Also, that town that this movie takes place in looks less of an actual town, and more of one of those bomb shelter neighborhoods that the U.S. would blow up for practice in the 1950’s. If you don’t know what I’m talking about, go and watch Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull, then you’ll know what I’m blabbering on about. Actually don’t check out that whole film, but just check that scene out, because that film sucks.

I’m also very glad that we got Chris Hemsworth as Thor because here he is so cool, so charming, and just so likable that even though he may sound like a spartan from 300, you can’t help but cheer this guy on in the end. Also, he may look like a total bad-ass, but Hemsworth actually reveals a little bit of a soft spot from within Thor, and it’s actually very cool to see. Anthony Hopkins is also very good as Odin, Thor’s father, and takes away all that trash he’s been getting talked on lately about how he’s some crazy, old loony. But Hopkins brings back that flavor we all know and love him for. Natalie Portman is good here bringing a lot of wit and humor to her character as Jane Foster. Tom Hiddleston is also good as the bad-guy Loki, who brings that evil British charm that we always despise in our “hero vs. villain” movies. Everybody else does a good job here such as Idris Elba, Kat Dennings, Clark Gregg, Ray Stevenson, and a very likable Stellan Skarsgård. There’s also a cameo from a certain someone that I can’t say, but when you see it, you’ll know what I’m talking about.

There’s also a little zinger at the end that is actually pretty interesting at the end, and not just the same old Avengers propaganda shit that shows another new character or something. Stay after the credits, because anything with Samuel L. Jackson is the shit.

Consensus: Thor is Hollywood summer blockbuster entertainment at its finest: well-acted, great to look at, easy to follow along with, briskly paced, and just a fun film that won’t have you in much need of a brain to enjoy.

8.5/10=Matinee!!

27 comments

  1. Hmm… maybe I will go see Thor this weekend after all. I’m not usually a big fan of superhero movies, but this sounds intriguing. Good stuff, Dan!

  2. I completely disagree on the pacing ~ and I also really enjoyed him on Earth, for more than I did up in Asgard.

    Good review Dan.

  3. This movie was awesome! I thought it was going to suck, but it sure did have a lot of heart and it was just such an enjoyable time at the movies. Nice review!

  4. I am seriously surprised with all the good reviews this movie is getting. I was figuring it would surely fall near the bottom run of the superhero ladder of movies. After all these positive reviews, I’m getting more curious about seeing this one. Though I don’t think I’m curious enough to actually head to the theaters for it, but rather wait for it to hit Netflix or something.

  5. “If you don’t know what I’m talking about, go and watch Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull, then you’ll know what I’m blabbering on about. Actually don’t check out that whole film, but just check that scene out, because that film sucks.”

    Haha, didn’t realize this. You’re right! I also like how you worked in some Jones 4 critique as well.

  6. I completely agree with everything you said. Even the small objection to the Earth town, which I hadn’t even realized until you mentioned it, haha. It was a really enjoyable movie, though. I actually wrote a similar review for it that you can find through clicking my name. I’d love for you to let me know your thoughts on it!

  7. Thor is one of the better marvel adaptations. you’re totally right about Thor’s little trip to Earth. The timeline of events of his banishment is pretty short: 3-4 days tops? I guess they didn’t want this movie to last for 3 hours.

    • I don’t think it’s right to compare time on Earth and Asgard as equal. A few days on earth could be several weeks in Asgard. It’s a mythic realm of immortal gods, what does time mean there to start with?

      • Maybe so but i bicker on the time issue because it doesn’t seem to me Thor actually learned anything substantial from his time on earth. i’m probably nitpicking.

  8. I loved this movie too! The more I think of it, the more I’m beginning to like Loki. He’s such an interesting villain… like Magneto and Dr Doom and the rest of his pals…

  9. Good perspective on this film, I’ve watched the film twice (once in 3D and the other in good ol’ 35mm) but I’ll definitely give it another view after reading your take on it.

    Thanks Dan for the share! 🙂

  10. awesome review man!

    I think I may be one of the few people who didn’t think this was going to suck. I was actually blown away by how much better it ended up than what I thought it would be.

    I wasn’t a fan of how slow things were on Earth, though. It was like they spent all their time making sure the scenes on Asgard and other places were so mind blowing, that the Earh (with the exception of the tent scne in the rain) was just an afterthought.

    Branagh wouldn’t have been my fiorst choice for this, but in the same token, would you have thought of Jon Favreau for Iron Man following Elf?

    What a way to start the summer…definitly an upgrade from last year, and its just getting started!

    check out my review when you get the chance

    • An overall good film that really took me by surprise by how much I actually really did like it. Seems like a great way to start off the summer. Thanks and will do!

  11. Yeah I had way more fun with this than Cap’s movie. And I’d never seen a super hero so… jolly before, I’d laugh just seeing Thor flash a grin down at Mjolnir or Jane Foster xD I just wanted to be on his team, even the Spider-Man movies weren’t this funny or the hero himself! Definitely a message too you can even glean it from the song at the end credits Learning to Walk Again I think, by the Foo Fighters?

Leave a comment