Groovers & Mobsters Present: The Buddy Flick


So Fandango Groovers and Movie Mobsters have always been doing this little thing where they present a little type of film genre, and a couple of people choose what films to talk about, and I have just been chosen as one of those people. So here goes nothing.

Trainspotting (1996)

      “1,000 years from now there will be no guys and no girls, just wankers. Sounds great to me.” – Mark “Rent-boy” Renton

We have all heard and said before: “Drugs are bad”. However, being an addict of any drug isn’t always as bleak as it seems. I do not take any drugs, but I can easily say that no matter what, you never forget about the people around you. So when I was told all about this little piece, and how to contribute, I couldn’t think of a better “buddy film” than Danny Boyle’s 1996 trip into the drug world, Trainspotting.

The central premise behind Trainspotting is about an on-again-off-again Scottish heroin junkie named Renton and the eccentric group of on-again-off-again heroin junkies he hangs out with. This plot line may not make it seem as crazy, but I have to tell you, some stuff really gets out-of-hand, and not in a good way either. And yet, it’s not a bleak picture by any stretch, which made this so much more unusual of a film because everybody is so used to the dark and depressing anti-drug film that will more or less put you on drugs, rather than stir you away from it. There is a constant energy throughout this film filled with humor, gags, and of course, heroin. For every silly and fun moment, there is an equally sad and dark moment. Even though all of these people are on drugs, you still want to somehow hang out with them, because their just so darn lovable.

This was a launching pad for almost every one involved. Danny Boyle had only one film before this and now has a Best Director Oscar thanks to Slumdog Millionaire. Ewan McGregor is in so much, but mostly known as Obi-Wan. Ewen Bremner doesn’t really do much but pops up every once and awhile, Johnny Lee Miller was in Dexter, Robert Carlyle shows up in many films, and Kelly Macdonald has made a real career for herself in roles in stuff like No Country for Old Men, Nanny McPhee, and most famously, Boardwalk Empire.

Trainspotting is one of those films that just is so much fun to watch, even though it has some terribly depressing subject matter. Boyle does a great job of not rubbing our noses in all the crappy situations these characters are put in, he just tells us basically everything we need to know in order to figure it out for ourselves. Trainspotting may be dark but I can promise you, you will have a great time, and stay away from heroin forever.

If you all want to check out the other posts from this little piece, go here. Thanks everybody for reading!

7 comments

  1. Thanks for reminding me. I lost my DVD copy of this one when my old neighbor suddenly became a stripper and moved away with a handful of my movies. Now that it’s on Blu-Ray it’s a must re-buy. LOVE Kelly Macdonald!

  2. Great choice, Dan. Trainspotting is one of those films that gets better the more you watch it. It is a difficult story to enjoy in the conventional sense but its very real message about drugs and their effect on people’s lives is made more effective by how funny the film is.

  3. I always liked Trainspotting because I found it difficult to stomach, especially that scene with the baby on the ceiling. I think it is persuasive without being preachy.

  4. Pardon my delay in getting over here but while I wouldn’t have thought of this it sure is a Buddy Flick…and with friends like these, who need enemies:P

    Absolutely love the beginning detox part and all the Sean Connery references. Fine write up Dan! Kind of makes me wish I would have written about Lock Stock and Two Smoking Barrels instead actually…

Leave a comment