Something Borrowed (2011)


Are romantic comedies getting this bad?

When successful single lawyer Rachel (Ginnifer Goodwin) learns that her best friend, Darcy (Kate Hudson), is engaged to Dex (Colin Egglesfield) — the same guy she’s pined after for years — she’s determined to maintain her loyalty. But things don’t go quite as planned. Instead, she and Dex wind up in bed on the night of her 30th birthday party. Not surprisingly, the fallout from their romantic “slip” generates awkwardness for all concerned.

After viewing the romantic comedy masterpiece of 2011 that is No Strings Attached, I just couldn’t wait to see a film that had that running for its money. Thankfully, I didn’t pay to see either.

The one thing about this film is that it is so terribly written. First of all this is a melodrama that has some of the worst comedy, and even worse romance. The main reason why the comedy doesn’t work is because there’s not too much here and it just ends up being corny sex jokes, that never ever work.

But the real reason why the romance doesn’t work here is because these characters are so terribly unlikable. Throughout the whole film I kept wondering why anybody would want to be best friends let alone marry this skanky, sleazy, and ignorant chick named Darcy. She is so mean to everyone around her, and it’s pretty obvious that nobody wants to really be with her, other than for a one night stand, so why the hell has she attracted this guy Dex, and why is she best friends with this polar-opposite Rachel. The romance is also just full of terrible romantic cliches that always pop up in these types of films, and there is no new insight into relationships whatsoever in here. This plot just starts to unravel with nothing new, and nothing interesting to say.

The performances are bland as well even though I can tell everyone tries. Kate Hudson is terribly unlikable as Darcy, and she looks really tired in here, since she basically plays the same character in every romantic comedy that has been released in the past decade. The film also seems to think that we will find something entertaining about Darcy just because she is played by Kate Hudson, but that is just so wrong on so many levels. Ginnifer Goodwin is cute but very bland and her character isn’t that smart either since a lot of the situations the film gets put into are all because of her and her stupidity. So much for her being the next “it” girl. Colin Egglesfield aka Tom Cruise is also really lame here as the awesome named Dex, who has got no good qualities about him which is strange since these chicks are both in love with him. John Krasinski is maybe the only reason why I’m actually giving this a 1, because his constant sarcastic and boyish charm never ceases to work on me. Thank you John, you’re still the man even though you chose this shit.

Consensus: Basically in a nutshell: Something Borrowed is boring, unoriginal, cheesy, corny, filled with unlikable characters, and has nothing new to say or even do for that matter. Avoid at all costs, unless you really need a date movie.

1/10=SomeOleBullShitt!!!

14 comments

  1. I completely agree! John was the only thing that made me stay for the rest of the movie. She should’ve ended up with John if you ask me. Much better storyline. I couldn’t take everyone else and I honestly think they try to make Kate into her mother. Somehow, her mother to me, played the dumb roles but somehow got smart at the end of her movies. Kate always stays the same. Didn’t like it at all. Nice review

  2. You could’ve said “Fucking Bullshit!!!”

    I don’t like these kind of romantic-comedies. It feels so unreal and such.

    I like Ginnifer Goodwin but I don’t want to watch her act all cute and such.

    And Kate Hudson, fuck that bitch! The only reason she ever got big is because she’s Goldie Hawn’s daughter. Almost Famous was a fluke. I’m repeating myself with every comment I’ve said about Hudson. I’ve suggested that there should be a ban on her because let’s face it. She can’t fucking act. In fact, let’s get her, Jennifer Aniston, and every other pretty chick who has been in movies for far too long and let them get beaten the shit out of by really talented actresses.

    • Yes! Let’s do it man! She sucks here and almost every single film she does, just sucks even more than the one that came before it. Hell to the yeah my man!

  3. Nice review! Couldn’t agree more! As a fan of the books, I’m really shocked that Emily Giffin was even OK with the way her work was adapted. There were so many things wrong with this film but thank goodness for John Krasinski.

  4. Thank you for checking my blog out!
    Hah, I give you Kudos for actually writing out a lengthy blog on the film. :-p I must admit too that I loved No Strings Attached. Not excited about the exact copy, Friends with Benefits. Even if it’s a better movie, I’m just not sure I’ll be able to respect it…

  5. Hey, thanks for the comment! Glad you liked my review!
    You’re pretty much spot-on here. This movie REALLY was awful. John K. was my favorite part, and he ended up getting screwed. Sigh. I’m not going to hold my breath for a good romantic comedy anytime soon….I’d be dead very quickly. šŸ™‚

  6. Romantic comedies do seem to be getting worse; however, “Bridesmaids” gives me a bit of hope. Perhaps more writers like Kristen Wiig will come out of the woodwork and start writing INTELLIGENT and CREATIVE films from a woman’s perspective.

    That said, I thoroughly hated “Something Borrowed.” HATED IT. Krasinski was the only redeeming character. And Ginnifer Goodwin is a good enough actress that she should know better than to take these crap parts. Plus, why did she have to wear a wig? Her natural haircut is lovely and much better suited to her face shape than that God-awful wig she wore.

Leave a comment