The King’s Speech (2010)


Hugh Grant really is going to kill someone!

Britain’s King George VI (Colin Firth) struggles with an embarrassing stutter for years until he seeks help from unorthodox Australian speech therapist Lionel Logue (Geoffrey Rush) in this biographical drama. Logue’s pioneering treatment and unlikely friendship give the royal leader a sense of confidence that serves him and his country well during the dark days of World War II.

Period Pieces really haven’t been as great as they used to be. And after this one, it looks like they may be right back on track.

You really do feel like you are in 1920’s-1930’s Britain with this movie. The set pieces look so realistic, as if they were almost all taken out of a old photograph, and the costumes all feel ripe and in style just like the time. For anybody that likes to look at old outfits from the 20’s, and feel like their there, this is surely the film.

The dialogue is also very good presenting a lot of the problem’s that people face with a stuttering problem, as well as kingship, and the honor as well as pressure it holds. The only problem I had with this movie, is that it really is nothing different. It is your typical, inspirational story, that takes the route your expecting it to right from the beginning. In all honesty, it’s not a good thing, but yet at the same time, it’s not a bad thing either. The film is pleasing because it keeps you entertained even though you know where this film is going, and it really is a film that the whole family can watch and learn something from it. Hell, my grand mom saw this before me, that just shows you the films appeal. At times it does get too sweet for my taste, and in the middle there is a bit of a drag within this film, and it doesn’t quite know how to get itself out of it.

It really is a film that since I’ve watched it already, I can say that I have watched it and be done with it. I’ll watch it maybe in the next year or two with my pop-pop, and I’ll like it, but it won’t be something that I’ll watch again, and again.

Colin Firth who has been in all those British romantic comedies, and every weird girls English sexual fantasy, does a very good job here of playing King George VI. He’s faced with the challenge of a stutter which from an actor’s perspective, is hard to pull off but he really does well here. He may not be the heart-throb in this that many expect from him, but he has that signature likability, almost that palpable general goodness about him that wins you over right away. I also liked seeing Helena Bonham Carter actually in a normal persons role, rather than the crazy, weird-looking Tim Burton/Harry Potter films. When she was starting out she was in a lot of period pieces, and it was nice to see her return to form once again. The best performance out of this cast is Geoffrey Rush, who I have never seen half-ass a role in his career. He’s frank, funny, and likable and brings so much to the screen every time he’s on, cause you can tell he really is having a great time with this material, and that didn’t bother me one bit. The times he and Firth are on screen together, feel genuine and really do bring out a lot of emotion within this film that I was not expecting. Also, many other familiar faces show up such as Guy Pearce, Derek Jacobi, Michael Gambon, and Timothy Spall.

Consensus: Though you know the direction of where it’s headed, and it’s not something different, but with its great performances, and realistic feel and look of the 20’s, you still can’t help but fall for the goodness that is The King’s Speech.

8/10=Matinee!!

14 comments

  1. You’ve expressed exactly what I was trying to put across about how this film plays out as a 1920’s photograph. A great review also, and the talents help this film alot. Nice blog, going to have a flick though your reviews.

  2. I remember talking to a younger coworker about the movie. He took his girlfriend to see this movie. And he’s one of those kids who have Se Pistols T-Shirts. This movie really is for everyone, which is what’s so charming about it.

    • Really it is, anyone can see it, and will be easily entertained. That’s why I don’t know why they didn’t go with a wider release. This could have done some major damage at the box office.

  3. Great review! I agree with you that this movie isn’t one I’d necessary see again, but I enjoyed it the first time and wouldn’t mind seeing a matinée of it again if a friend wanted me to go with them.

  4. I like that you mentioned how good the setting was. It did make you feel like you were back in that era. Maybe it was a little predictable, but it is true story, and one I have never heard before. The story always seemed to be about his brother. Thanks for pointing out your review. You are a very good writer.

  5. I agree- Geoffrey Rush is astonishing! My favorite scene is where Rush and Firth shake their jaws, and then jump up and down with their jaws and shoulders swinging everywhere, mouthing “aaaaa”s and “blublublubrs”. It’s fantastic, yet as you point out, genuine!

Leave a comment